General

The General module allows users to input settings for Work Orders, which enables users to input requests for work needed. The General setup screen includes the set up of Request Types, Issue Types, Priority Levels, Routes, and Products.

Request Types

The Request Types tab allows you to establish the types of work orders users are able to submit.

1. From the Work Orders menu, click General.

2. Click the Request Types tab.

3. Enter the specific Request Type of work order that will display on the Work Order Requests > Drafts tab.

4. To define the users that will have access to the type of work order request, select the Profile(s) from the pull-down.

5. Use the element pull-downs, such as Fund, Function, Facility, etc. to set a default expense budget accounting strip allocation that will be used to pay for the completed work order.

6. Select the Active check box to make the work order type available to users upon creating Work Order Requests (draft). Leave the check box cleared to make the request type inactive if you are not ready to make the type available to users yet. You can then select the check box at a later date.

7. Select the Allow Fixed Assets check box to enabled users to link a work order to an existing fixed assets record, which would allow users to track repairs or additional costs from the submitted work order via the fixed asset itself.

8. Select the Allow Products check box to enable users to set up and select products as part of a work order. Once set up, the products could be used as replacement parts for the requested repair which would then reduce the Warehouse inventory for the selected product.

9. Select the Bypass Pick List check box to bypass Pick Lists upon being submitted as a work order. This option can be useful upon submitting work orders for auditing purposes that do not need to be picked up by workers to complete.

10. Select the Allow Allocations check box to allow users to select an applicable accounting strip for allocation, other than the default expense account selecting upon creating the request type.

11. When all selection have been made and/or entered, click into a text box and press the Enter key to save the request. You will know the line of data has saved when the line turns blue and the delete button displays (red minus sign).

To delete a request type, click the delete button (red minus sign). Note: It is recommended to clear the Active check box to make the request type inactive instead of deleting the request type.

To edit an existing request click the text box and make changes, click the pull-down and change your selection, or select/clear check boxes.

Issue Types

The Issue Types tab allows you to define the types of issues selected and submitted by users.

1. From the Work Orders menu, click General.

2. Click the Issue Types tab.

3. Enter the specific Issue Type that will display on the Work Order Requests > Current Request tab > Issue Type pull-down (Issue Details section).

4. To define the users that will have access to the type of issues created, select the Profile(s) from the pull-down.

5. Select the Active check box to make the work order issue type available to users upon creating Work Order Requests (draft). Leave the check box cleared to make the request type inactive if you are not ready to make the type available to users yet. You can then select the check box at a later date.

6. When all selection have been made and/or entered, click into a text box and press the Enter key to save the issue. You will know the line of data has saved when the line turns blue and the delete button displays (red minus sign).

To delete an issue type, click the delete button (red minus sign). Note: It is recommended to clear the Active check box to make the issue type inactive instead of deleting the issue type.

To edit an existing issue click the text box and make changes, click the pull-down and change your selection, or select/clear check boxes.

Priority Levels

The Priority Levels tab allows you to establish priority levels for selection upon submitting or approving work orders.

1. From the Work Orders menu, click General.

2. Click the Priority Levels tab.

3. Select the Allow requester to define priority check box to allow users submitting work order request to also define a priority level. Leave the check box cleared if users submitting work order requests should not be able to define a priority. If left cleared, only approvers (defined via Setup > Approval Flow).

4. Enter the priority level Code that will display on the Work Order Requests > Current Request tab > Priority Level pull-down.

5. Enter the Title of the priority.

6. Enter the Description of the priority.

7. When all information has been entered, click into a text box and press the Enter key to save the issue. You will know the line of data has saved when the line turns blue and the delete button displays (red minus sign).

To delete a priority level, click the delete button (red minus sign).

To edit a priority level, click the text box and make changes.

Routes

The Routes tab allows you to establish routes for workers picking up work orders via the Pick List.

1. From the Work Orders menu, click General.

2. Click the Routes tab.

3. Enter the Route name that will display on Pick Lists.

4. Select the Facilities that apply to the route from the pull-down. You can select as many facilities as applicable.

5. Select the Request Type(s) that apply to the route from the pull-down.

6. Select the user who will be assigned the route from the Assignee pull-down.

7. Enter the assignee's Hourly Rate in the provided text box.

8. When all information has been entered, click into a text box and press the Enter key to save the issue. You will know the line of data has saved when the line turns blue and the delete button displays (red minus sign).

To delete a route, click the delete button (red minus sign).

To edit a route, click the text box and make changes or click the pull-down to change your selection.

Products

The Products tab enables users to set up products for selection as part of a work order.

1. From the Work Orders menu, click General.

2. Click the Products tab.

3. To set up work order products, start by entering the Product Name in the text box provided.

4. Enter a the product Description in the provided text box.

5. Enter the Cost of the product in the provided text box; i.e. the dollar amount of the product.

6. To link the work order product to an existing Warehouse Item, select the warehouse product from the pull-down.

To set up warehouse products, from the Warehouse menu, click Catalog > New Item tab.

7. Enter the product Quantity amount, as in the number of product available for purchase.  

8. When all information has been entered, click into a text box and press the Enter key to save the product. You will know the line of data has saved when the line turns blue and the delete button displays (red minus sign).

9. To Duplicate a product click the corresponding button.

10. To attach an additional Warehouse Item to an established work order product, click the green plus sign.

a. Once you click the green plus sign, select the applicable Warehouse Item from the pull-down and enter the Quantity.

To delete a product, click the delete button (red minus sign). Note: If you delete a product that contains attached warehouse items, all attached items will be deleted as well. However, you can delete an attached item without deleting the original product.

To edit a product, click the text box and make changes or click the pull-down to change your selection.

Additional Features

Click the Filters button to filter data and apply filter rules.

a. To add more than one filter to a column, click on the green plus sign.

b. To delete an added filter, click on the red minus sign.

c. Select the gray arrow for additional filtering rules.

For more information on how to use the Filters feature, see Filters.

You can sort data by clicking on any of the headers. Click once for ascending results; click twice for descending results.

Use the Filter text box located in select pull-down to quickly find a selection. Begin typing the name or number of the data in question to pull it to the beginning of the list.

Click the Check all visible link to select all options in the pull-down. Click Clear selected to remove any selections made in the pull-down.